Tag: Heavy Metal

Album Review: Five Finger Death Punch ‘The Wrong Side of Heaven and The Righteous Side of Hell, Vol. 2’

5fdp-main-3web-e1389913615738Five Finger Death Punch started working on The Wrong Side of Heaven and The Righteous Side of Hell in early 2013, but there was just so much awesome rock left over that they decided to ‘Use Their Illusions’ and release a second album of the remaining tracks just four months later.

“We came off the road after a couple of great years of touring and were really amped up to write the fourth record. Everybody was in the right headspace and the band tighter than ever, so it was a perfect storm,” guitarist Zoltan Bathory said.  “We jumped in head first and found ourselves 12-13 songs deep fairly quick, but were still coming up with better and better material so we looked at each other and said… okay why stop there?… let’s keep going.”

Fortunately for lovers of metal music, the second helping of hardcore head-banging was not relegated to just leftovers. The first single, “Battle Born,” proves that 5FDP has the ability to crossover into the mainstream rock audience while still maintaining their metal cred. The guys simply know how to create rock radio-friendly music, from anthems like “Cold,” which uses piano and strings accompaniment, to pounding, growling vocals in the opening tracks “Here to Die” and “Weight Beneath My Sin.” If I had to choose the next single to be released, it would definitely be “Wrecking Ball.” Fret not, metal-heads, it has nothing to do with Miley Cyrus and would crush her twerking ass.

5FDP_WSOH2The Wrong Side of Heaven and The Righteous Side of Hell, Vol. 2 has everything that you can imagine from a metal band; hard-driving rhythms, blistering guitars, monster drum solos and lead singer Ivan Moody has the ability to growl and hit higher notes in the blink of an eye. Five Finger Death Punch gently walks the line of being too commercially successful for purists of the heavy metal genre, but the groove put forth on both volumes will make even the biggest metal fan throw up the horns.

For those that look to bands who cover classic tracks, 5FDP does a masterful job on The Animals’ “House of the Rising Sun” with amazing lead guitar work from Bathory. “The Agony of Regret” is a haunting, instrumental track and a departure from what people know of 5FDP and will surprise many fans on their first listen.

My two favorite tracks on the album are “Let This Go” and “A Day in My Life” with insane drum/rhythm guitar intros and great riffs and solid groove throughout.  “Cradle to the Grave” has entirely too much going on in one song though, while “My Heart Lied” doesn’t have enough, making the two tracks my least favorites, but they work well as album filler.

Five Finger Death Punch is one of the most ardent, dedicated bands when it comes to bringing the music to their fans with their relentless touring. They head off to Australia next month and then hit Europe in March and April with an arsenal of 24 new hard-rocking, arena-tailored songs created to incite a frenzy and rock your face off.

Track Listing

  1. “Here to Die”
  2. “Weight Beneath My Sin”
  3. “Wrecking Ball”
  4. “Battle Born”
  5. “Cradle to the Grave”
  6. “Matter of Time”
  7. “The Agony of Regret”
  8. “Cold”
  9. “Let This Go”
  10. “My Heart Lied”
  11. “A Day in My Life”
  12. “House of the Rising Sun”